Friends General Conference

Together we nurture the spiritual vitality of Friends

Spiritual Deepening Offering: The Kingdom of God Is... Worship Sharing

photo by Tim Mossholder from Pexels
Adult

In the Bible, it is called the Kingdom of God, and sometimes the Kingdom of Heaven. In the Cotton Patch Gospel, Clarence Jordan calls it “The God Movement.” Mary Linda prefers “God’s World” and “kin-dom of God” while Mark favors the implied sovereignty of “Commonwealth of God.”

We invite you to join us as we explore, not word choices and their meanings, but what Jesus said about the Kingdom of God, how early Friends interpreted the concept, and what we can do to actively build God’s World today. We will encourage participants to engage with readings, videos, and/or music centered around each week’s theme (the materials will be labeled as to how much time is required so you will be able to pick what works for you--from 5 minute videos to long articles). We will meet on the first four Sundays in November from 4:00-6:00 pm Central: November 1, 8, 15, 22

Schedule: Sundays from 5-7pm Eastern / 4-6pm Central / 2-4pm Pacific, on November 1, 8, 15, and 22, 2020.  Readings and other materials for each weekly call will be published on the Monday of the week before.

Format:  Zoom calls.  The same Zoom link will be used each week.  All readings and materials, including the Zoom link, are available in the Spiritual Deepening eRetreat platform, Matrix.